Connect with us


6 LP Lawmakers Blames Incessant Crisis for Defecting to PDP



Six members of the Enugu State House of Assembly, who were elected on the Labour Party platform, have formally announced their defection to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).The lawmakers made this announcement during an ongoing plenary session on the floor of the House.

Citing irreconcilable divisions and incessant crises within the Labour Party at both the national and state levels, the defectors expressed regret over the party’s state of perpetual discord, which they believe undermines its ability to effectively serve the interests of the people. They noted that the party, once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, has become synonymous with internal squabbles, diminishing its capacity to fulfill the aspirations of the electorate. Among the cited divisions were the Abure and Apapa factions, as well as conflicts involving the national treasurer and the parent body, NLC.

The defectors expressed optimism that the PDP would provide them with a platform to continue serving the interests of their constituents and thanked the leadership of the Labour Party for their support.

The lawmakers who announced their defection include the Chief Whip of the house and member representing Igboeze North I, Hon. Ejike Eze; the leader of the house and member representing Enugu North, Hon. Johnson Ugwu; the member representing Enugu South Rural, Hon. Princess Ugwu; member representing Nsukka West, Hon. Pius Ezeugwu; member representing Igbo-Etiti West, Hon. Amuka Williams; and member representing Oji River, Hon. Osita Eze.

The motion for the acceptance of their defection was moved by Rt. Hon. Iloabuchi Aniagu and seconded by Rt. Hon. Jane Eneh.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *