Connect with us


Soludo Tasks New Anambra Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen on Grassroots Development



Anambra State Governor, Prof. Chukwuma Charles Soludo has charged newly appointed Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen to be dedicated to the task of improving lives of poorest of the people in rural communities across the state.

Soludo gave the charge while inaugurating the 21 LG Transition Committee Chairmen at the Anambra State Executive Council Chambers, Government House, Awka, Anambra state on Tuesday.

Governor Soludo equally informed the new caretaker council Chairmen of the huge task ahead of them, stressing that their portfolio as public servant was the greatest form of philanthropy.

He charged them to ensure they touch lives of the tomato sellers, the keke operators, the okada riders and poorest of the people in the rural communities within their respective local governments.

He also informed them that they are called to serve in difficult time and must work hard to deliver while carrying along stakeholders and leaders in their local governments.

Soludo seized the opportunity to pledge his administration’s readiness to construct access road to the Anambra West Local Government Headquarters at Nzam soon.

He stated that the state government was very aware of the declining oil revenue and had decided to go back to palm and coconut economy with purchase of 200 thousand palm seedlings and 150 thousand coconut seedlings that will be distributed to poor rural farmers and their communities.

Earlier in his remarks, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. Tony Collins Nwabunwanne assured the governor that the deserving Transition Committee Chairmen had been scrutinized, interviewed and had not been found wanting.

He added that they would be active in addressing issues of waste management in local government and rural areas.

Those who took oath of office during the event included: Aguata: Prince Chibuike Ofobuike, Anambra East: Dr. Anselem Onuorah, Anambra West: Mr. Felix Ikechi, Anaocha: Mr. Gerald Ikechukwu Ozo, Awka North: Mr. Emmanuel Ucheze, Awka South: Mr. Thankgod Aniago and Ayamelum: Hon. Livinus Onyenwe.

Others included: Dunukofia: Mr. Augustine Onyemaobi Nonyelum, Ekwusigo: Mr. James Chimezie Obi, Idemili North: Mr. Chucks Brown Igboanua, Idemili South: Mrs. Immaculata Amaka Obi, Ihiala: Mr. Kingsley Obi, Njikoka: Mr. Clems Aguiyi and Nnewi North: Mr. Mbazuluike Iloka.

Also inaugurated on Tuesday were: Nnewi South: Mr. Ikenna Oluchukwu Aniagbaoso, Onitsha North: Mr. Charles Ozoma, Onitsha South: Mr. Emeka Orji, Orumba North: Engr. Ogochukwu Ekwueme, Orumba South: Mr. Sunday Uchendu, Oyi: Mr. Emmanuel Nweke and Ogbaru: Mr. Paschal Chidiebere Aniegbuna.

In his remarks, Prince Nevile Uchendu, Transition Committee Chairman of Orumba South Local Government Area thanked Mr. Governor immensely for finding them worthy to serve Ndi Anambra.

He assured the Governor that they were all committed, determined, prepared and with capacity and capability to deliver on their mandate.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *